P R E V I O U S     P R O J E C T S

Explore some of my past engraving projects! These are samples of the completed projects as well as testimonials describing the experience of working with me. If you enjoy what you see and are interested in my engraving services please visit Pricing


Miracle on 34th Street

- Dr. Scott Watkins  (Jacksonville University Associate Professor; Coordinator of Keyboard Studies, Piano, Chamber Music)

This was part of a production for Jacksonville University, a historical reproduction of the premiere radio broadcast of the Miracle on the 34th Street radio show. This was a short project involving engraving a long manuscript and generating parts for use during the production.

Promotional Poster

"Transcribing this music is hard, slow work. I am indebted to my engraver, Mr. Daniel Farrell, who has done an amazing job (also painstaking work) of putting my manuscript into the computer so individual orchestral parts could be printed and read by the outstanding musicians on stage. The music is as much a part of the show as the actors and sound effects."

- Dr. Scott Watkins: Editor

Dr. Scott Watkins's Website:  http://scottwatkinspianist.com

Score Sample

Jacksonville University Performance

Violin Part Sample

Trumpet Part Sample

Howard Hanson: Symphonic Rhapsody for Piano, Op. 14 (1919)

- Dr. Scott Watkins  (Jacksonville University Associate Professor; Coordinator of Keyboard Studies, Piano, Chamber Music)

This was a long term project with Dr. Scott Watkins of editing and restoring - through engraving - an original and previously unpublished manuscript of the American composer Howard Hanson. Interpreting and correcting many of the inconsistencies with score was a challenge, but resulted in a beautiful finished manuscript. The process of engraving has breathed new life into this forgotten work as it will soon be published by Carl Fischer Music Publishing.

"I recently had the opportunity to work with Mr. Farrell on a rather complicated editing project. During our work together we had to decipher a nearly 100-year old manuscript and create a workable, readable version which would best and most accurately express the composer’s intentions.

Mr. Farrell was, as a collaborator, far more than a mere “music engraver”  - he was involved in the editing process at every artistic level from the earliest examination of the century-old manuscript to the realization of a finished final product.

Mr. Farrell was thoroughly professional, easy to work with, and accurate in his work. The final result of our collaboration is scheduled for publication representing a first for the composer.

If you are looking for the finest collaborator in a music engraving or music editing project which requires accuracy and thoughtful editing you may rest assured that working with Daniel Farrell is the best choice you can make!"

- Dr. Scott Watkins: Editor

Dr. Scott Watkins's Website:  http://scottwatkinspianist.com Explore Howard Hanson: http://www.carlfischer.com/composer/hanson-howard/

Selections from Preface by Dr. Scott Watkins:


     "Howard Harold Hanson (b.1896 - d.1981) composed his largest single-movement solo piano work, Symphonic Rhapsody, Op. 14, during the summer, 1919, in San Jose, California, where he was Dean of the music faculty at the College of the Pacific, and professor of music theory, composition, and piano. Hanson played the work often between October, 1919 and March, 1920, eliciting positive reviews of his playing and of the Rhapsody. Though long believed to be a transcription of the orchestral version, the editor's research has revealed that the piano version is, in fact, the original version of the work, and that it was the solo piano work which Hanson himself performed most often.

     The work is Hanson's largest single movement work for solo piano, taking approximately ten minute in performance, and revealing many pianistic features which demonstrate the technical and expressive gifts of the composer as pianist."

  • Hanson - Symphonic Rhapsody
  • -
  • Sibelius MIDI
00:00 / 00:00

© 2019 by Daniel Farrell.